Home | Contact Us
Texas Department of Motor Vehicles

Bonded Title Procedure

If you do not have acceptable evidence of ownership for a vehicle you own, you may have the option of applying for a bonded title.

Step 1: Determine your eligibility

  • In order to qualify, you must be a Texas resident or military personnel stationed in Texas; or
  • Have a vehicle that was last titled in Texas, and
  • The vehicle must be in your possession and cannot be considered abandoned, junked, stolen, or in any other pending lawsuits. Although not required to be operational, it must be a complete vehicle including a frame, body and motor or if a motorcycle, a frame and motor.

If you meet the above eligibility requirements, you may take or mail the following documents to your nearest TxDMV Regional Service Center:

  • A Statement of Fact for Bonded Title (VTR-130-SOF);
  • A Statement of Physical Inspection (VTR-270);
  • All supporting evidence of ownership (Bill of Sale, Invoice, Cancelled Check, etc.);
  • $15.00 Bonded Title Application Fee; and
  • Acceptable Photo ID which must include a photograph, unique identification number, birth date, and expiration date.

If your documents are approved, you will be issued a letter stating the amount of the required bond, equal to 1½ times the value of the vehicle. The department will determine the value of the vehicle using one of the sources below:

For vehicles newer than 25 years old in order of preference:

  • The Standard Presumptive Value (SPV) from our web site (www.TxDMV.gov) as the primary source;
  • If a SPV is not available, the National Auto Dealers Association (NADA) reference guide will be used; or
  • If a value is not available either through SPV or NADA, a licensed motor vehicle dealer or insurance adjuster may appraise the vehicle on a form provided by VTR;
  • For vehicles 25 years old or older, TxDMV staff will use the greater of:
  • A set value of $4,000.00 multiplied by 1.5 will be assigned to the vehicle;
  • If the applicant has a bill of sale over $4,000.00, that amount will be multiplied by 1.5 and assigned to the vehicle;
  • The applicant must sign a certification attesting the vehicle value does not exceed the amount of the bond.

Step 2: Purchase a surety bond

Take the letter and other documents given to you by the TxDMV Regional Service Center to an auto insurance agency or any agency that is licensed to sell vehicle Surety Bonds in Texas. The letter from the TxDMV Regional Service Center is valid for only one year based on the vehicle value.

Step 3: Apply for a bonded title

Within 30 days of obtaining the bond, take the original letter given to you by the TxDMV Regional Service Center and the documents listed above, to your county tax office, in addition to:

  • a completed Form 130-U including any additional documents required by this form;
  • Acceptable Photo ID which includes a photograph, unique identification number, birth date, and expiration date;
  • weight certificate (if a commercial vehicle or a truck);
  • a Vehicle Identification Certificate (Form VI-30), completed by an authorized Safety Inspection Station (if previously titled out-of-state); and
  • an (HS 7) Customs Document or other U.S. Customs declarations (if the vehicle is imported from another country).